Skip to main content

Managing Policies

Policy Actions#

Based on your organization's information security standards, a Sensei policy defines how your organization's firewalls should process inbound and outbound network traffic for certain IP addresses, address ranges, users, user groups, protocols, applications, content categories, and more.

You may view or manage your policies on your firewall on the Policies page.

To view the Policies page of a node:

  • Select a node
  • Click Policies on the left sidebar menu

Policies page of a node

Figure 1. Policies page of a node

On the Policies page of a node, you can perform the following management tasks:

  • Import policies
  • View the list of the policies
  • View the status of the policies
  • Edit a policy
  • Clone a policy
  • Delete a policy
  • Create a new policy
  • Create a new centralized policy
  • Synchronize a policy with a firewall
  • Create a restore point (backup node policies)
  • Restore a node to a point (restore node policies)
  • Delete a restore point (delete backup of node policies)

Importing Policies#

When you view the policies of a node for the first time, all of your local policies defined on the node are imported into the Cloud Portal automatically.

info

If you have not created any new policies yet, only one policy called Default will be imported.

Importing Policies automatically

Figure 2. Importing policies automatically

Viewing Policies List & Status of the Policies#

All of the defined policies on your firewall are listed on the Policies page as well as the status of the policies.

Figure 3. Policies list view

Status

If the policy is enabled, a solid green circle is displayed in the bottom right corner of the policy's icon to the left of the policy name.

If it is not enabled, you will see a solid white circle instead of green.

Synchronization

The policy list includes icons to indicate the synchronization status of each policy.

If the policy is synchronized with the firewall, a solid blue circle with a checkmark icon is displayed on the right side of the policy list.

If it is not synchronized, a solid grey synchronization icon is displayed.

Editing a policy#

You may edit a policy by simply clicking on the name of the policy in the policy list view. For more information about policy configuration, please refer to Configuring a policy.

Editing a policy

Figure 4. Editing a policy

info

If you are not the owner of the firewall you cannot edit policy settings.

Cloning a policy#

To make a copy of a policy:

  • Click on the clone icon . This will open a dialog box for renaming the clone of the policy.
  • Enter a name and click the Clone button. The new policy will be sent to the node. You will see the clone of the policy in the policy list view.

Cloning a policy

Figure 5. Cloning a policy

note

The Default policy cannot be cloned. If you need more than one policy, you must have a Premium subscription. For more information, please refer to plans & pricing.

Deleting a policy#

To delete a policy:

  • Click on the trash icon . This will open a dialog box for confirming the deletion of the policy.
  • Click the Remove button. The policy will be removed from the firewall.

Deleting a policy

Figure 6. Deleting a policy

note

If you have not created a restore point before deleting a policy, please be careful since the delete action cannot be undone.

Creating a new policy#

To create a new policy:

  • Click on the Create new policy button at the top right corner of the Policies page. A dialog box will open for renaming the new policy.
  • Enter a name and click the Create button. The new policy will be sent to the node. You will see the new policy in the policy list view. For more information about policy configuration, please refer to Configuring a policy.

Creating a new policy#

Figure 7. Creating a new policy

Adding a centralized policy#

note

The centralized policy feature is not available for the Free & Home Editions. To enable the centralized policy feature, you must have either the SOHO or Business subscriptions.

To add a centralized policy:

  • Click on the Add centralized policies button at the top right of the Policies pane. A window will open that lists the existing centralized policies.
  • Select one of the centralized policies or click create centralized policy to create a new policy as shown in figure 8. For more information about centralized policies, please refer to Configuring policy.
  • The centralized policy will be sent to the firewall. You will see the new policy in the policies list as shown in figure 9.

Adding a centralized policy

Figure 8. Adding a centralized policy

Policies list view with a centralized policy

Figure 9. Policies list view with a centralized policy

Removing a centralized policy#

To remove a centralized policy:

  • Click on the minus icon. A dialog box will open for confirming the removal of the policy.
  • Click the Remove button. The policy will be removed from the firewall.

Removing a centralized policy

Figure 10. Removing a centralized policy

Synchronizing a policy with a firewall#

A policy may be easily synchronized with your firewall by clicking on the synchronization button on the policy list view. This will send the policy to the node. If the synchronization has completed successfully, a notification message is displayed on the policy view and the synchronization icon is replaced with a solid blue circle with a checkmark icon for the policy.

Restore point overview#

A restore point is an image of the Sensei policy configuration and settings in the Cloud which helps to restore the system to an earlier date when the system was running properly.

Restore Point Actions#

Creating restore point (backup node policies)#

note

The Firewall restore feature is available only for Premium subscriptions. For more information, please refer to plans & pricing.

To create a backup of your policies on the node:

  • Click on the Create restore point at the top right corner of the Firewall restore pane. This will open a dialog box.
  • Enter a description in the dialog box.
  • Click on the Create button.

Creating restore point

Figure 11. Creating restore point

After the restore point creation has completed, you will see the list of restore points in the Firewall restore pane. The following information is present in this list:

  • Description of the restore point
  • Tag of the restore point (manual: restore point of policies created on the cloud portal manually. backup: local policies imported from the node automatically)
  • Creation date of the restore point
  • Restore button to restore a policy
  • Delete button to delete a policy

Figure 12. Firewall restore point list

Restoring node to a point (restore node policies)#

To restore your firewall to a point:

  • Click on the upload icon . A dialog box will open for confirmation of the restore operation.
  • Click the Restore button. Your node will be restored to the state it was at that point.

Restoring node to a point

Figure 13. Restoring node to a point

Deleting a restore point (delete the backup of the policies)#

To delete a restore point:

  • Click on the trash icon . A dialog box will open to confirm the deletion of the restore point.
  • Click the Remove button. The restore point will be removed from the firewall restore point list.

delete a restore point

Figure 14. Deleting a restore point

Last updated on